3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bow Hand Arthritis Pain  (Read 443 times)

Offline USBP_1969

• Trad Bowhunter
Bow Hand Arthritis Pain
« on: February 03, 2009, 04:49:00 PM »
Howdy.

I have been shooting Howard Hill Longbows since 1991, but a while back I began to experience joint pain in the ring and little finger of my bow hand.  I started wearing a golfing glove and that helped some, as well as taking Glucosamine.  Long story short, I had to sell my beloved HH longbows.

I then obtained a radical deflex / reflex longbow and the problem went away for a while, but I have now ended up retreating to a light 54" recurve that seems dead in the hand.

As I write this, however, my bow hand little finger is letting me know that it's not happy with yesterday's 30 minute shooting session.  (Both ring and little finger joints are swollen)

So, this question is primarily directed to those who have experienced this and have hopefully found a solution.

I love the flight of the arrow too much to quit.  Thanks.
>>>>------   ;)   -------->

Offline ranger 3

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bow Hand Arthritis Pain
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2009, 04:53:00 PM »
I have it so bad in my drawing hand (r) that when I get up in the morning it is so swollen I have to put under warm water just to make a fist. I will be watching this one.
Black widow PLX 48@28
Black widow PSRX 48@28

Offline Canadabowyer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2009, 06:15:00 PM »