3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: 40# Bow for Training and Targets  (Read 688 times)

Offline Whitetail Chaser

• Trad Bowhunter
40# Bow for Training and Targets
« on: February 09, 2009, 03:27:00 PM »
I have been shooting bows from 53-60 pounds for 15 years, but recently I've thought of getting a light bow (40#) for form practice and target shooting in the spring and summer.

Does anyone shoot a 40 pounder for practice and then beef up to their hunting bows before fall?

I know this violates the "shoot only one bow" rule for consistency, but it does give me a reason to buy another bow! LOL!

Thanks for any opinions.
Brett
50# MAX Widow
54# Sapphire Hawk
53# Schafer Silvertip TD
45# Hill Country Bobcat

Online Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
Re: 40# Bow for Training and Targets
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2009, 03:43:00 PM »
The shoot only one bow "rule" for consistency is pretty much a myth IMO.  I shoot about the same weight you do for hunting.  Don't have any 40#ers, but do have one a little under 50 that I sometimes use to work on form. A fella should definitely have more than one bow.  I say go for it.  40# is a pretty big drop though.  Might want to stay in the mid-40s.  It will feel pretty light by comparison to what you are currently shooting.  Good luck.

Offline Builder

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2009, 04:52:00 PM »