3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: When you took the leap.....Do you remember?  (Read 543 times)

Offline GMMAT

• Trad Bowhunter
When you took the leap.....Do you remember?
« on: February 18, 2009, 09:32:00 AM »
I've been bowhunting since 2005.  I hunted that first season and took only one ill-advised shot (clean miss) on the closer, that year.

Between 2006-2008 I figured it out and took 22 big game animals with my bow.  What a blast.

Now go back to 2006....and I'd just shot my first trad bow.  I eneded up buying one, soon after that, and I've shot it sporadically and even taken it hunting a few times.

So to my question....

Do you remember when you took the leap to committing to hunting, exclusively with your trad tackle?  To me, the manner of taking has always overshadowed the end result.  So you'd think this would be an easy jump, right???

Easy leap, for you?

Offline Joseph

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: When you took the leap.....Do you remember?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 09:40:00 AM »
It was in 1994.  I started bowhunting in 1983 with a compound but I had shot recurves since I was a little kid.  By 1987 I had target panic so bad I totally locked up when I drew back my bow to shoot it.  6 years in the Army without touching a bow, got out in 1993 got a compound again that fall and the target panic was right there again.  I tried a recurve after the 1993 hunting season out of despiration thinking that if I didn't have to hold at anchor to aim I might be able to shoot again.  It worked and I have never looked back   :thumbsup:
"Politicians are like diapers, they need to be changed often and for the same reason"

Offline WildmanSC

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 09:43:00 AM »