3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Am I getting burned out with trad or what?  (Read 624 times)

Offline Dave Bulla

• Trad Bowhunter
Am I getting burned out with trad or what?
« on: March 13, 2009, 02:45:00 AM »
Ya know, I've been shooting a longbow as an adult for about 15 years now and the past about two years, I've noticed that I'm not quite as avid when it comes to shooting as I used to be.  Used to be there was almost never a day went by that I didn't shoot at least a little.  

I went through all the target panic stuff for years and totally changed my style to get over that and it worked for the short drawing but I never really got 100% rid of my "spaz" as I call it where I'd shoot a couple good arrows and then flinch one off about a foot or two.  My best friend and huntin' bud died about 3 or 4 years ago and it just hasn't been the same.  I've got no family around here and haven't hooked up with anyone like Bob.  

Partly due to my target panic, and a lot due to having to hunt public land, I've not had the opportunities to take or make shots on deer like a lot of people get year after year.  I've only killed one buck and one doe in all the time I've been hunting.  (Gosh, Ihadn't really sat down and figured that up until just now...)

I've got three kids and my daughter is now 14 and she'll be bow hunting deer this fall for the first time.  My boys are 7 and 4 so they can't quite bow hunt yet but they like to go with me.  Of course, when they do, it's usually not for deer or if it is, we don't have much luck for obvious reasons but we have fun.