3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Puttin On Skins...Question  (Read 260 times)

Offline FlyinCedar

• Trad Bowhunter
Puttin On Skins...Question
« on: March 15, 2009, 09:25:00 AM »
I have a longbow that I really love, and I am planning on adding some snake skins to the limbs. I have done this before, and i was not happy with the results. The advice I got on how to do it included putting a few coats of superglue on the skins after they are on the bow. I did this, and finished with Tru Oil, but as soon as i started shooting it, the limbs got a cloudly look to them. I can only attribute this to the super glue not being flexible enough. I didnt really understand the superglue being necessary to begin with, since the skins were getting a finish put over them.

I dont want that to happen again. The bowyer that made the bow is a friend of mine, and he is going to reapply the finish just like new after i apply the skins...is it normal practice to use the superglue? Did i do it wrong? Can i skip that step altogether?

I know this was drawn out, and thank you for your time and any help you may have.
Matt 6:33-Seek the Kingdom of God, above all else, and live righteously, and He will give you everything that you need.

Offline maxfit

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Puttin On Skins...Question
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2009, 09:36:00 AM »
You might want to move this over to the Bowyer forum. Those guys salivate over these issues! They are very helpful, and some of our sponser bowyers  chime in frequently. Hope this helps.
Lu 11:21  When a strong man armed keepeth his palace, his goods are in peace:

Offline Chris Wilson

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2009, 09:50:00 AM »