3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow Specialties Arrow Crester - Opinions Wanted  (Read 426 times)

Offline dino

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow Specialties Arrow Crester - Opinions Wanted
« on: March 27, 2009, 05:49:00 PM »
I just got a hold of an Arrow Specialites cresting machine.  Who has used/owns one?  Opinions?  Wanted to hear it all, the good, bad, and the ugly!  I just started playing with it this afternoon and wasn't too impressed with how it spun a shaft with a little bend in it, but a perfectly straight shaft spun like a dream.  Whats your experience......dino
"The most demanding thing you can ask of a piece of wood is for it to become an arrow shaft. You reduce it to the smallest of dimension yet ask it to remain it's strongest, straightest and most durable." Bill Sweetland

Offline Red Armed Panther

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow Specialties Arrow Crester - Opinions Wanted
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2009, 07:31:00 PM »
It is all I use, I like it very much. If a shaft is not straight it will be a problem no matter what crester you use.

Offline Pluck Yew

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2009, 08:55:00 PM »
what is this arrow specialties crestor and where can I find info?  :confused:

Shawn...
Give 'em the bird!

Offline maxwell

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2009, 08:59:00 PM »
I've got one and have had no problems, as Red Panther said if your stock is bent it's not the crestors fault.

Bill

Offline dino

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2009, 09:14:00 PM »
Bill,
The reason I mentioned the bent shaft (and it was a very slight wobble) is because my Philips crester handles them pretty well.  So I am comparing all other cresters to that and it seems that the bent shaft walked right out of the crester.