3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What do you do to prepare for that 1st shot?  (Read 444 times)

Online cnorth

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
What do you do to prepare for that 1st shot?
« on: March 28, 2009, 06:44:00 PM »
This may be a dumb question, but I need some suggestions.  I have been shooting trad for a few months now, and I feel like that I am doing better.  However, my first shot seems to always be off, then when I fire a few more, I start to hit good.  However, I am thinking that my 1st shot is my most important since I think it is very doubtful that a whitetail is going to give me that 2nd shot.  So I guess what I am asking is how do you stay loose after sitting several hours in the stand?  I know with the compound it was not as critical for there was always the high let off. Is this something that will get better with me the more I shoot (strength wise), or is a form flaw? Thanks ahead for the suggestions, hope all is well, GOD BLESS!!!!!
Trust in the Lord with all of thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  Proverbs 3: 5

TOELKE WHIP HS 48 @28, 60"
TOELKE WHIP 50 @ 28, 64"     
BROWNING WASP 45 @ 28
BLACK WIDOW PMA III 51 @ 28, 62"

Offline Broken Arrow 1

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What do you do to prepare for that 1st shot?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 06:52:00 PM »
I draw my bow every 30 min or so when I am hunting to try and stay loose. As for your first shot problems I would say make sure that you are doing the same thing every time. If you think you are having form problems take a few videos of yourself shooting and watch them. That is how I improved my form and after that my shooting became more consistent.
Its not the size of the animal you hunt that matters. Its how you hunt the animal.