3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Easton Axis ST's  (Read 208 times)

Offline Benoli

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Easton Axis ST's
« on: March 28, 2009, 07:40:00 PM »
I recently acquired some Easton Axis ST 400’s. I noticed that have the HIT inserts that need to be glued in. How can they be tuned to determined proper length? Can they be tuned for my #53 @ 28” Shrew or will they be too stiff?
One stick, one string and an arrow I'll fling!

Offline Jered Shofner

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Easton Axis ST's
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2009, 08:39:00 PM »
I've been using the Axis shafts for a couple years and have learned to just use hot melt glue for the inserts.  If you have to remove them, you can warm up the shaft and pull them out. Don't heat them up any more the necessary, though. If you hit the shaft with flame, it doesn't take long to destroy it. I've never had an insert come loose.

To many variables to be sure if they will shoot out of your bow without testing, but a friend of mine shoots 400's out of a 50# bear recurve.

If you are going to bare shaft these for tuning, you can always put the inserts in and take your cuts off of the nock end.  Re-insert the nock and your ready to go.

Offline wihill

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2009, 10:58:00 PM »
I put the insert in the tip, place it into the arrow, and wrap the shaft/tip up in electrical tape.  I test all my arrows into a soft foam homemade block, and have yet to lose a tip with this method - except for the few times I forgot the electrical tape.
Support the sport!

Online pdk25

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2009, 11:08:00 PM »