3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: newbie longbow build help  (Read 274 times)

Offline KYboy555

• Trad Bowhunter
newbie longbow build help
« on: April 01, 2009, 04:03:00 PM »
First let me start by saying this site is awesome.  I'm brand new to traditional archery but, have been shooting a wheel bow for sometime as well as having been a 4H shooting archery instructor when my daughter was shooting archery.  Recently I have had a burning desire to start shooting a longbow.  So I decided the best way to get started was to build one.  I would appreciate any input on the subject.  I have read most of the post on here about building a longbow and have decided to build one out of hardwoods native to Kentucky, I would also like it to be deflex/reflex style around 66".  So I guess what I would like to hear about most is what woods native to Kentucky would be smooth and fast as well as which should be the belly and which should be the back.  ex. Cedar backed with Red Elm. bonded how?

thanks to everyone I think I'm gonna like the trad gang.

Offline broketooth

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: newbie longbow build help
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2009, 06:11:00 PM »