3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: First Bow ????? Any suggestions ????  (Read 450 times)

Offline 8KCAB

• Trad Bowhunter
First Bow ????? Any suggestions ????
« on: April 05, 2009, 06:15:00 PM »
I'm about as new as it gets to longbows... I can barely tell you the difference between reflex and deflex.  I was calling the nock in the arrow 'the notch' until someone corrected me.  So I'm pretty new to this.

I had an opportunity to shoot a couple traditional Robertson bows and thought they were nice.  I also shot a couple self bows.  Not bad either.

This traditional longbow thing is growing on me.  I think I know what I want.  Somewhere in the range of 62" 55# and 28".

So here's the question...  In my shoes would you buy new?...  used?...  custom?...  mass produced?...  or any combination thereof.  Or maybe a different way to ask the same question... If you could only own 1 traditional longbow with which to learn from, what would it be?

Thanks for the input.

Jon

Offline L51

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: First Bow ????? Any suggestions ????
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2009, 06:39:00 PM »
Welcome Jon,

I'm fairly new to trad shooting, having lucked my way into a nice Bear Montana Longbow really cheap on an auction site. Didn't know about this website until I got to looking for more info.

Again, I was lucky to start with something inexpensive (under 200 bucks) with a draw weight of 50lbs.

I'd say go cheap and light, learn to shoot it well, develop good habits and move on. If you find out it's not for you, you're not out much.

I now have a Mohawk 55lb beauty and still enjoy the heck out of shooting the longbow.

Best of luck to you.

Dan

Offline 8KCAB

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2009, 07:01:00 PM »
Dan,

Nice suggestion, thank you.