3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Thoughts on dropping DW....  (Read 915 times)

Offline GMMAT

• Trad Bowhunter
Thoughts on dropping DW....
« on: April 09, 2009, 06:16:00 PM »
OK....So I've been shooting a LB for a couple years.  I've also been shooting all wrong for a couple years.

After getting and looking at MBBIII, I realized I've NEVER utilized back tension to trigger my release.  I realized yesterday (forst day on the blank bail) that a 52# LB isn't anything to sneeze at.  I shot my compound at 66-60#'s.

So.....I've got a custom recurve on order.  I sent the bowyer a note today and said I'd like to chsnge from 52#'s to 50#'s.

My question is (other than the obvious of "5#'s), is there a HUGE difference in performance between 50#'s and 45#'s....if I decided I wanted to go even lower?  I hunt eastern whitetails and turkeys, but might go after elk in 2010 with the bow.

I'm 44, and I'm buying this bow with the full intention of it being my go to hunting bow for many years to come.

Bottom line, do you think I'd be happy with a 45# bow?  I'm an active (ex-collegiate baseball player and PGA Professional) 6'1"/195# guy.

I have NO pride issues with shooting 45#'s....IF it'll perform for what I want it to.

What happens if you're UNDERbowed?

Thanks.  I appreciate all comments.

Offline bowmaster12

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Thoughts on dropping DW....
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2009, 06:26:00 PM »
hey jeff im pretty new to this so i cant be of to much help but i know for sure that a 45 lb bow will do just fine on your deer and turkey not sure about the elk sorry i could be o fmore help

Offline Rob DiStefano

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
    • Cavalier Pickups
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2009, 06:30:00 PM »