3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Fast flight on older bows  (Read 173 times)

Offline bucksakemmer

• Trad Bowhunter
Fast flight on older bows
« on: May 17, 2009, 07:57:00 AM »
Since Im somewhat new to trad someone help me with this. Buddy of mine has and old Indian recurve. What will happen if he puts a fastflight string on it. Also can you do anything to and older bow to make it fastflight safe?

Offline Mo. Huntin

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Fast flight on older bows
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 08:10:00 AM »
I am new as well but from what I gather the limb tips have to be reinforced for a fast flight string.  If the tips are not they will fail.

Offline nd chickenman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 08:13:00 AM »
I would not mess with the fast flight strings on any of my old bows. I don't thinks that the gains are worth the risk to the bow.

Offline bucksakemmer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2009, 08:14:00 AM »
Another guestion, how do you know when a string needs replacing? Does it wear on the ends? I keep mine waxed so I don't see any fraying.

Offline bentpole

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2009, 09:13:00 AM »