3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: technical arrow spine question... dynamic spine  (Read 246 times)

Offline 8KCAB

• Trad Bowhunter
technical arrow spine question... dynamic spine
« on: May 17, 2009, 12:47:00 PM »
I've been using the once posted dynamic spine calculator by Stu Miller to guide my arrow buying.

From the drop down list on the spine calculator, I inserted "carbon 400."  After some poking around it appears that not all Carbon 400 arrows are alike in gpi (I'm new to this.)  The drop down 400's appear to have a 9.1 gpi built into the formula.  My newly purchased arrows are 10.4 gpi.  Are you following me?

I chose "other" on the the dropdown menu and entered 10.4 gpi and used .4 as my deflection (Beman MFX 400's.)  When I enter .4 it gives me an AMO static spine of 65#.

When figuring the dynamic spine of the arrow, do I simply use the 65# that the program generated or do I have to call the company to find out what this figure is????

Offline James Wrenn

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: technical arrow spine question... dynamic spine
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 01:34:00 PM »
Go with the carbon setting instead of other.Other is giving amo standards for wood arrows.That will not read the same as the carbon standard.Don't worry about the weight difference.It will be close enough to make little difference.jmo
....Quality deer management means shooting them before they get tough....

Offline xtrema312

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: technical arrow spine question... dynamic spine
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2009, 02:57:00 PM »