3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Wanting advice on canvas wall tents..please  (Read 1517 times)

Offline Arkansaslongbow

• Trad Bowhunter
Wanting advice on canvas wall tents..please
« on: May 22, 2009, 11:31:00 PM »
Stepping up from my "wally-world" tent and wanting to buy a good canvas wall one for up coming hunting season;NEVER have had one so I am very new to this;
Any pictures of yours and any advice would be greatly appreciated; I don't want real big but big enough to handle small wood stove;
Thank you so much for your vauable time..  :campfire:
May the sun always shine bright on your path and the wind be in your face

Offline Brian Krebs

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Wanting advice on canvas wall tents..please
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2009, 05:46:00 AM »
I have spent months and months in wall tents; in all kinds of weather.

Canvas is great; but their are other materials that work also. I like canvas- but you have to treat it- and a plastic rain fly is the norm in wall tent camps.

If your hunting by yourself or with a buddy; an 8x10 is fine. You can still have enough room for a woodstove.

I think a big factor is wall height. An 8x10 with 2 foot walls will be a different tent - than an 8x10 with 3 or 4 foot walls.

2 foot or less on walls; and your going to be sleeping on the ground. 3 foot walls; and you can put a cot right next to the wall and not worry about touching the roof.

I like putting the stove pipe on the left; by the door as you go in. Most people open right doors if their is a double door; and the chances of someone opening the flap and walking into the stove decrease.