3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow build-a-long  (Read 1470 times)

Offline StanM

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
Arrow build-a-long
« on: March 24, 2007, 12:04:00 PM »
Seems like there's been a couple of threads asking for advice on building arrows.  I am no expert on it, but I thought I'd post a build-a-long to show how I do it.  Most of the things I use to build arrows anyone can make in their shop.  I like to keep it simple and it seems to work okay for me.

The first couple of steps are new to me and can be skipped if you buy shafts or dowels.  I happened to find some 36" Port Orford Cedar 2x2's at my local hardware store that were $1.49 and perfectly straight grained.  Couldn't pass that up.

First step is to rip them into 3/8th inch squares.  You can see in the pic that I use a high tech fence for ripping, a scrap 1x2 and a couple of clamps

After the stock is cut square another scrap of 1x2 with a v groove cut down the middle and a peg at one end to hold the square allows me to plane the four corners.  Planing the eight corners that are left gets the shaft pretty close to round.

With the shaft this close to round I chuck it in a hand drill and hit it with 50 grit, then 120 grit and then 220 grit to get a smooth round shaft.

Next, it's off to my high tech spining machine.  To me an arrows spine is simply the amount of bend it takes under a given pressure.  I don't weight my shafts down in the middle, I weight the end with a peg in the middle.  According to Einstein, it's all relative anyway   :)  

Marking shafts of a known spine will give you a scale that's easy to read and surprisingly accurate.  Here's my tester.