3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Tapering  (Read 383 times)

Offline Billy

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Tapering
« on: May 31, 2009, 01:23:00 PM »
I recently started playing with wooden shafts.

What I am wondering about is tapered shafts. Most I have seen have a 10" taper.

I shoot a longbow that has no shelf. It has an add on and a notch in the window. It shoots @48 lbs. at my 25.5" draw.

I am shooting parallel 27",5/16,POC 40-45, with 200 grain Ace(hex,brass and Express).

Don't have any problems with them. Except that, the 200 grainers are made for the bigger shafts. Just Curious what else can be done with wood.

1) If. I was going to try some 11/32 or 23/64 tapered shafts; would I need to change spine groups.

2) Does anyone have or know of a jig to give a longer taper; say 16-20"?

3) Would there be any pros or cons to a longer taper?

Okay, have at me. And, Thanx for any thoughts.
TGMM Family of the Bow

Taker of the Founders Red Pill

Offline Orion

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
Re: Tapering
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2009, 01:31:00 PM »
Going to a larger diameter shaft has the same effect as building the arrow shelf out more yet, necessitating an even weaker spine, regardless of whether the shafts are tapered.

Don't know of any jigs to make a 16-20 inch taper, but don't know why you would want to. Given the weight bow you're shooting and length arrow, the arrow is already fairly light.  Tapering more of its length would just decrease the weight even more.

There have been some build alongs on this site re making one's own taper jig.