3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Extreme FOC and fletching  (Read 233 times)

Offline boog21

• Trad Bowhunter
Extreme FOC and fletching
« on: June 11, 2009, 04:16:00 PM »
I'm new to Tradgang - hope I've chosen the right forum for my questions.  If not, someone please steer me in the right direction.

I've noticed that a light breeze affects the flight of my extreme FOC arrows much more than my normal FOC arrows.  Is this normal?  Is there any way to fix the problem?

If not, since Dr. Ashbey rated perfect arrow flight higher than extreme FOC for penetration, shouldn't I go with lower FOC for my hunting arrows since wind conditions afield vary?

Offline L82HUNT

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Extreme FOC and fletching
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 04:57:00 PM »
I have not seen this problem myself.  Most people can get away with much smaller feathers with EFOC.  Normally your feathers are what gets caught by the wind.

Offline Jason Jelinek

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 05:14:00 PM »
What I've experienced is that the wind will kick around the end of the arrow more on an extreme FOC shaft but it will impact closer to it's initial heading than an arrow with lower FOC.  The lower FOC arrow flight won't be as visibly affected by the wind but will impact further away from it's intial heading.

For example (I made up numbers as an example, not real world data):

Wind 20 mph left to right, shooting at a 20 yard target.

25% FOC arrow impacts 1.5" right of the spot it would have hit with no wind.  The arrow's end kicked in the wind then settled in with a small angle of the tail to the right before hitting the target.