3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What weight arrow is too light for a 45# bow?  (Read 683 times)

Offline Jason Bell

• Trad Bowhunter
What weight arrow is too light for a 45# bow?
« on: June 16, 2009, 09:20:00 PM »
I'm used to shooting 410-504 grain arrows out of my 45# SR Swift.  But it was raining tonight so I fletched a couple of gold tip 600 ultralights just to pass the time.  Weight on the finished 30" arrow is right at 260.  I am fairly new to traditional and am not sure what weight is too light for a bow.  I don't want to damage my bow by shooting these arrows.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Offline LONGBOWKID

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: What weight arrow is too light for a 45# bow?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2009, 09:27:00 PM »
You need to be shooting ATLEAST 360 grains to meet the 8 grains per pound minimum most bowyers set. If you shoot a lower weight than they allow, it can void your warranty.
In my opinion, I'd be shooting the 410 grain arrows out of it.

Kid
Turkey Creek Longbows
60" 46#@29"
62" 51@29"
62" 61#@29"
62" 77#@29"

Holm-Made Osprey
60" 67#@29"

Offline nightowl1

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2009, 09:29:00 PM »
definitly too light.. I would shoot at least the 410 but the 504 would be a great one
Combo Hunter 46@28

I came from nothing and I brought it with me.

Offline Jason Bell

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2009, 09:35:00 PM »
The 504's are Grizzly Stiks and they do fly great.  I thought there was an 8 grain / pound rule out there but just wasn't sure.  What about tube weights for the ultralights?  If I put in 5 grain per inch tubes I end up with a 404 grain arrow.

Offline LKH

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2009, 09:36:00 PM »