3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Some thoughts on string twist  (Read 595 times)

Offline bawana bowman

• Trad Bowhunter
Some thoughts on string twist
« on: June 16, 2009, 10:30:00 PM »
OK, here's my observation.
Purchased 5 longbows in the past 4 months. All came with a flemish string, (fine and dandy). 3 of the strings were twisted up tighter than a barber pole sucking on a lemon,(1 was actually 7 in 1 inch!!), 1 had a full twist every 3 inches, and the last had one in 6 inches.

Now, I've been making flemish strings since about 1980, and before that was making endless loop strings for about 9 years.
My Flemish strings usually have a full twist every 3 - 4 inches, depending on the length of the string.
It has always been my thought that the endless loop strands are parallel to begin with and as such will only stretch or elongate at most about an inch,(on heavy draw weights) and then settle and cease to stretch.
With this in mind it would seem the more twist there is in a flemish string, the more spring there is to elongate to bring the strands towards being parallel. This would seem to add a lot of unwanted stretch to the string creating constant nock point and brace height adjustment.

I've always used Dacron and have actually never fooled with FF of any breed, (never felt the need). So perhaps all the pictures I've seen posted lately with strings twisted up tighter than kite string could be FF material, and the builder thinks they look pretty that way.

But my thoughts are that all those twists are both a waste of time, materials, and efficiency.   :archer:

Offline wtpops

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Some thoughts on string twist
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2009, 10:53:00 PM »