3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Dip Tube  (Read 541 times)

Offline S2K Kev

• Trad Bowhunter
Dip Tube
« on: July 25, 2009, 10:54:00 PM »
Ok, I am just getting into traditional archery...sort of.  (I hunted with a recurve a couple weekends several years ago, achieved my goal had to put it down do to stress in the limbs.  Anyways, that is another story for another time.)

I have a longbow on order right now and I got to thinkin 'If I am going to be a bear, might as well be a grizzly bear'. So I did some research and spent way too much at 3Rivers on wooden shafts (pre spined and tapered), taper tool, paints, etc.  Long story short, I didn't buy enough laquer to fill the dip tube I bought.  I read on the label were it said not to use PVC.  What are some other materals I could make a dip tube out of?

If only the dip tube I bought was half the diameter it would be great.  I really don't see the need to have a 1 1/4" diameter tube to dip an 11/32" arrow....or am I wrong?

Offline Mo. Huntin

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Dip Tube
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2009, 11:16:00 PM »
What about copper pipe?  I don't really know bud.

Offline Benjy

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2009, 11:33:00 PM »
When my tube gets low, I put an old 2413 shaft in the tube to take up some space.
TGMM Family of the Bow
ZIPPER NITRO 64" LONGBOW 50#@29"
ZIPPER SXT   60" RECURVE 52#@29"
ZIPPER SXT   64" LONGBOW 71#@29"

Offline Fletcher

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2009, 11:54:00 PM »
A golf club tube and a couple of rubber plugs will work.  When you are done with the doz, toss the tube and clean the plugs for the next time.  If you are gonna be making more arrows, the big dipper is a worthwhile investment.