3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: What it takes.....  (Read 419 times)

Offline dbow

• Trad Bowhunter
What it takes.....
« on: August 17, 2009, 08:59:00 PM »
I've been hunting for about 20 years now. Started on rifle, moved to compound then to recurve.  I've enjoyed recurve so much until two things happened.  

First I moved from the mid west(Minnesota) to the east coast(Maryland).  Big mistake, less game, less hunting rights, less friendly people, less private land.  Second issue was a blessing, I had a baby girl!  Having a child is awesome, and it takes away from my practice bigtime.  I used to practice everyday, now I maybe have time for once a week!!!!  

As a result, for the past three years I've seen and missed a nice basket buck, and a trophy turkey.  Both were twenty some yards, and shouldn't have been an issue.  

Only two opportunities to shoot in 3 years total!!  

I have had angry liberals swear at me and interrupt my hunting, honkers, paintballers) and had a hiker literally walk right thru my hunting spot during season yelling "F you! This is public land!!".  (Called the warden, but he didn't show.)

This summer I moved back to my compound because of the lack of game/time and have stopped enjoying the sport of hunting.  I hate the direction compound archery has taken, I can't stand the speed race.  Also I feel the quality of the new bows are weak and way too overpriced!!!!  It seems like young hunters now are knowledgeable but would rather buy something that might fix their issues rather than develop the motor skill of shooting.