3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: my bow seems loud!!!! UPDATE...  (Read 532 times)

Offline Gaff

• Trad Bowhunter
my bow seems loud!!!! UPDATE...
« on: August 22, 2009, 11:03:00 AM »
i dont know if im ust used to how quite my lb was, but my new recurve seems ALOT louder than i would like.     :confused:      dont get me wrong i really like the bow, its fast and no hand shock. if i can quote it down it would be the perfect bow. im just new to tuning bows, so my experience is limited. ive adjusted the brace height both ways and it doesnt seem to help.     :confused:    
i have the sims leeches on and thats not workin! i also tried beaver balls and they were terrible!!     :mad:    
i added some felt material to the grooves and that didnt help either... HELP>>>>     :banghead:    

im thinkin about the bow hush and hush puppies..
are they really as good as people say they are???

ps. i know i sound desperate. thats because i am!
but im sure you all can help me!

GAFF       :pray:
----------------->>>>>>>
Jamie

Offline acadian archer

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: my bow seems loud!!!! UPDATE...
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2009, 11:32:00 AM »
I use the musk ox silencer from 3Rivers an calf skin in the string grove. SILENCE.

It sounds like you may be using too light an arrow??
44# Chek mate Hunter II

"shoot what you like, like what you shoot"

Offline heydeerman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2009, 11:34:00 AM »
Gaff,

I would start by calling the bowyer and talking with him. He is the expert on his bows and nobody can give you better advice on his bows than him. I'd bet you might get what you need there.