3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: longbow or recurve?  (Read 494 times)

Offline afalmlen

• Trad Bowhunter
longbow or recurve?
« on: April 01, 2007, 12:36:00 AM »
I read the byron ferguson article in tbm this month. I'm fairly new to trad archery, and have only shot recurves. It mentions that longbowes are more stable, and that if you can't hold your bow for ten seconds, you should go down in weight. I thought I was fairlt strong, and have benched between 275 and 300, but I can't hold my fifty pound recurve for ten seconds without shaking like a leaf. I pondered loseing the recurve and trying a long bow. Would this help? Would I really benifit from making these changes? Any help would be great. Thanks.

Offline mcgroundstalker

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: longbow or recurve?
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2007, 07:32:00 AM »
The first time out did you bench 275 pounds?...I think not, sooooo...You gotta work up to holding your bow for ten seconds...That being said I don't know anyone who holds a trad bow at full draw for (that) long...Not I anyway...

Some guys practice drawing to anchor then backing down real slow...(With an arrow on the bow)...For hunting shot windows, if you know what I mean...Think that is what Byron was talking about...

... mike ...
"Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies"

Offline bentpole

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2007, 08:25:00 AM »