3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: long or short bow  (Read 1023 times)

Offline huntman

• Trad Bowhunter
long or short bow
« on: September 03, 2009, 02:43:00 PM »
Just wanted to know if a 62"bow would be more forgiving/smoother draw than say a 58". Im 5'10" & do alot of tree stand hunting so would prefer a shorter than longer bow but did not want to give up nothing. Thanks for any info on pros/cons on short vs. long.

Offline spike buck

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: long or short bow
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2009, 02:56:00 PM »
I'm no expert and only have been shooting since this spring but I have noticed a huge difference between 58" and 62" longbows. The 58 stacked at full draw (I draw 28") The 62 drew nice and smooth all the way back. First year with traditional gear so can't comment on the tree stand thing...yet.

Offline Night Wing

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2009, 02:58:00 PM »
Longer bows are more smoother to draw and more forgiving in my opinion. This is why I chose a 66" recurve and a 68" hybrid longbow for my 30" draw length.
Blacktail TD Recurve: 66", 42# @ 30". Arrow: 32", 2212. PW: 75 Grains. AW: 421 Grains. GPP: 10.02
Blacktail TD Recurve: 66", 37# @ 30". Arrow: 32", 2212. PW: 75 Grains. AW: 421 Grains. GPP: 11.37

Offline Tim Fishell

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2009, 03:02:00 PM »