3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: First bear  (Read 782 times)

Offline acadian archer

• Trad Bowhunter
First bear
« on: September 19, 2009, 09:21:00 AM »
I had bever hunted bear before and was considering going to new brunswick when a friend gave me a card for a young outfitter just starting out just down the road(25 miles). After doing rehab for months due to a broken bow arm elbow I decided to give him a try.

I got to camp and found I was the only hunter for three days. I had been practicing for about two months and I could smoke my targets and had been shooting a bear target for three weeks daily. I was ready or so I thought.

The first morning a 200 lb boar came in and I let him pass. later an 80 pounder came by and entertained me an hour (sporatically) or so.

Then around 7 pm the little guy came back and I watched him for twenty minutes until he bolted off. A big sow was coming in. I focused on her when I noticed a huge boar coming in . Two bears at once!

The boar was broadside at twenty yards and I fired an arrow over his back!he bears left and a few minutes later the sow came back and I again fired over her back. I was sick , mad , confused. how could I miss??? I was lmost ready to quit, so dejected and doubted my abilities.

The next day I decided to hunt a different spot, as I couldn't go back to yesterday's spot, and watched a large sow with two cubs.

On the final day of the hunt I sat and watched the little guy several times through the day. A good bear came in and I let him go. When he came again I drew on him twice but each time at the last second he moved and he was facing slightly forward. I sat down and let him pass.