3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Cracked Limb, need advice  (Read 278 times)

Offline steelerhead95

• Trad Bowhunter
Cracked Limb, need advice
« on: September 28, 2009, 09:00:00 PM »
Hello everyone, this is my first post here.  I am having a problem with my recurve, and this place was recommended to me by many people.  I was told that all that you want to know about traditional bowshooting can be found here.  I'm a novice trad shooter (recent compound convert).  I have a colt firearms gamemaster recurve.  It is pretty old as far as i know, it is 60 inches and 49#.  I have been shooting it a lot lately, but after shooting yesterday i noticed some cracking on the upper limb.  i'm not sure if it is a surface crack that I can deal with and keep using the bow, or if the bow is ruined.  I really hope i can keep shooting the bow, because i cannot afford a new recurve now.  I am trying to include some pictures, but I'm not a very good photographer and couldn't get a really great picture of the damage.  if the damage is not going to damage the bow, can i stop it from spreading somehow?  I would welcome and appreciate as much advice as possible about this problem.  Thank you very much.  

Offline owlbait

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Cracked Limb, need advice
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2009, 09:05:00 PM »
It might help you to post this on the bowyers forum or trad history/collecting. You will find many experts on both those forums that can help you.
Good luck.
owlbait
Advice from The Buck:"Only little girls shoot spikers!"

Offline Dave Worden

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Cracked Limb, need advice
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2009, 10:22:00 AM »