3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Please help with EFOC  (Read 227 times)

Offline Cue Builder

• Trad Bowhunter
Please help with EFOC
« on: October 08, 2009, 10:10:00 AM »
Is it possible to achieve EFOC with hardwood arrows that are 29.5" long for a 54# center shot R/D LB? I've tried to research and read on this subject but to no avail. I read about guys hunting with 200 gr. blades and low profile feathers but they don't say what their shafts are. I first bought cedar and they don't stand up to my misses. Then I bought Hickory and they shoot nice and flat out to about 7 yards but I might want to shoot out to 20 yards. I'm very new to archery and it would be easy to spend hundreds of dollars I don't have, experimenting. Hopefully, someone out there can steer me right. Thank you.

Offline **DONOTDELETE**

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Please help with EFOC
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2009, 10:18:00 AM »
Ash shafts w/ hickory footing. some say if you soak the shaft in ( I forget the stuff now) it will gain some weight. You can also melt down a split-shot in the head to add weight as well.

Offline Drew

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2009, 10:25:00 AM »
do a search on woody weights...
Just a Coyote Soul out wandering...

Offline BobW

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 08, 2009, 10:38:00 AM »
EFC - for me, no.  But that is around a 34" arrow, and 56-59 pound bows drawn to 32"+.  If you play with Stu's dynamic spine calculator, you can see what spine shaft you need to get a desired point weight up front (hence a desired EFOC).  For me, my non-EFOC-arrows are 105# spine (using a 145gr point), and weigh over 800 gr.  Trying to go EFOC means increasing spine to ranges that are impossible to find.