3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Why do so many broadheads have straight edges?  (Read 726 times)

Offline UCBerzerkeley

• Trad Bowhunter
Why do so many broadheads have straight edges?
« on: October 12, 2009, 03:16:00 PM »
I have little experience in this department, only having used magnus stingers in my short career.

But if you take a look at basically any cutting instruments you see curves - knives, axes, a variety of swords (yes, some are straight). Curves creates a shearing motion, so that the edge slices through the target as the weight of the blade drives it deeper. It is the principle reason a kukuri or katana make such effective slicers.

Seeing as not all broadheads exhibit this curvature, I must be wrong. Can someone please set me straight? (haha...get it...straight...straight-edge...nevermind)

Offline George D. Stout

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Why do so many broadheads have straight edges?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2009, 03:23:00 PM »
Well,  it may well be that it is much cheaper to tool up for a straight edge, and that the broadhead edge is rarely over 2 to 2 1/2 inches long.  Some heads like the Simmons and the Howard Hill are curved.

Offline VAFarmer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2009, 04:03:00 PM »
Keep in mind that this type of cutting is a little different than most cuts made with a curved blade.   You are comparing a slicing style of cut(with the Kat) versus a stabbing type of cut.  does this make a difference?   Who knows.
Most other "stabbing" blades are straight.
I would venture to say Mr Stout is getting close when he speculates that cost is a factor.  Not to mention sharpening.   MUCH easier to sharpen a straight blade than a curved, if you ask me.