3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Endless Loop Versus Flemish  (Read 196 times)

Offline Ragnarok Forge

• Trad Bowhunter
Endless Loop Versus Flemish
« on: October 14, 2009, 01:03:00 AM »
Ok,

So I am fairly new to trad archery only been back at it for 5 months. After 20 years spent   compound shooting.  I shot recurves in high school.  So the question here is does an endless loop string tend to shoot faster than a flemish string of the same count and material.  I have already surmised from other posts that endless loop strings tend to be noisier than flemish.  Lets here it from all the old hands and string pro's out there.
Clay Walker
Skill is not born into anyone.  It is earned thru hard work and perseverance.

Offline wharvey

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Endless Loop Versus Flemish
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 09:33:00 AM »
I think an saw an article in one of the sold out editions of Trad Bow Hunter that tested this. They were building strings with different materials with same and different weights. If memory serves the endless string was slightly faster than an identically weighted flemish.

The key word there is slightly. I think the difference was on the order of 5 fps or less, which is pretty much meaningless in practice.
Bill

Martin Howatt Hunter 35#@28"
Martin Hatfield 55#@28"
Grey Ghost 40#@28"

Offline BowZen

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2009, 10:03:00 AM »
Bowyers like Mike Fedor and Jack Harrison advocate using the endless loop strings just for the reason you stated- you get 5-8fps. Think about it, carbon adds that sort of performance and people pay $100's more for that.

Offline LBR

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2009, 11:40:00 AM »