3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Non-wood risers  (Read 135 times)

Offline Greg Owen

• Trad Bowhunter
Non-wood risers
« on: October 14, 2009, 11:35:00 AM »
Another thread made me think about this. I know we all have our own opinions. I would like to know who considers the non-wood risers to be too modern to feel traditional. I am not a hunter although I often go hunting with others. I started shooting traditional because I like the challenge and like the complex simplicity of it. It just seems so simple until you try to excel at it, then it gets very complex. It just doesn't 'feel' traditional to me to have a non-wood riser on a traditional bow. I am not saying people who use them are not traditional archers. They are. I know this could extend out to limb materials too.  I don't have the same non-traditional feelings about carbon in the limbs. We all have our preferences and opinions. Ok - I need to go shoot some more while I contemplate the seeming inconsistency I have between modern riser and modern limb.
Greg  >>>>>--------------->
A Traditional Archer and Vegetarian.

Offline manyletters

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Non-wood risers
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 11:46:00 AM »
Greg...well said...I have both wood and metal risers in ILF configurations. Both have their places in tradional archery whether it is in a hunting situation or 3d or target. I think sometimes we get way too caught up in the issues at hand and egos and strong opinions get involved...just go out and sshoot a bow and enjoy...whatever floats your boat as some people say...if it works for you...it must be good!!  :campfire:

Offline pseman

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2009, 12:58:00 PM »