3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Is it this simple?  (Read 288 times)

Offline M

• Trad Bowhunter
Is it this simple?
« on: October 14, 2009, 01:51:00 PM »
I am new with lots of questions,and I hope someone can help. I shoot a 1972 Bear Super Magnum 48 with 150 carbon express arrows 150gr head. I pulled my bow 15 times and had someone mark the arrow and measured my draw length. shortest was 29 1/4" to 30 1/4 " my arrows are cut to 30 3/4". I have been reading about these bows and finger pinch, stacking, bows breaking etc. I seem to be killing deer so is ignorance bliss or should I adjust anything? I am attracted to traditional because I like simple but it may be more complicated than I first thought.

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Is it this simple?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2009, 02:02:00 PM »
It  COULD be more complicated,  or not,  as you deem fit.
ChuckC

Offline wharvey

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2009, 02:04:00 PM »
It is my belief that a major trait of man is to over complicate things.

I would think that you would experience a bit of finger pinch but it it isn't bothering you then it's no big deal. If it gets a lot harder to pull the last inch or so then you are experiencing stacking. Again no big deal if it doesn't bother you.

I would suggest you try to develop more consistency with your anchor. Your draw length shouldn't vary that much from draw to draw unless you are changing your shooting stance with each draw.
Bill

Martin Howatt Hunter 35#@28"
Martin Hatfield 55#@28"
Grey Ghost 40#@28"

Offline VAFarmer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2009, 02:23:00 PM »
I have a very similar setup with a 160 gr. head.  
Same bow.
Mine is 40@28.
I am pulling just a hair over 29.