3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: A little frustated  (Read 371 times)

Offline joevan125

• Trad Bowhunter
A little frustated
« on: October 19, 2009, 08:02:00 AM »
This is my first year shooting trad archery and i missed 2 easy shots this weekend. One was a nice 8 pointer at 17yds and i shot about a foot over his back. The other deer was a small doe at 15 yds and i also shot over her back.

Looking back at what went wrong i dont remember picking a spot or even estimating how far they were from me. Even though i missed i am more determined than ever to get one of those critters with a stickbow.

The doe i missed was standing under some acorn trees outside our cabin 25yds from where our targets are. I slipped up on her and after i missed i went over and got my arrow, turned around and from 25yds centered one of our targets.  :banghead:  

Guys im so excited about getting a deer with my recurve that i think im just forgetting what it is i need to be doing when im shooting at a live animal. I hope next weekend i will have some pictures to show you of my first harvest.
Joe Van Kilpatrick

Offline KentuckyTJ

• SPONSOR
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: A little frustated
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2009, 08:09:00 AM »
Joe, The only thing I keep telling myself when a deer's coming in is "Pick a spot", "Pick a spot". If I don't then I to shoot at the entire animal. It's crucial to pick that tuffed of hair, muscle created shadow, or even a leaf in front of the deer in the correct spot. Something to keep your brain focused.