3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Are short recurves really harder to shoot?  (Read 941 times)

Offline Zradix

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Are short recurves really harder to shoot?
« on: October 26, 2009, 11:08:00 AM »
Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to trad archery. I have a little Herter's perfection 46" 40" act. length string. I'm an ok shot with it. It pinches my fingers and such but I'm ok with that. I find myself having to arch my wrist down so the grip is in the "crotch" of my hand only and press down on the thumb groove-rest in order to get decent groups. My limbs aren't perfectly straight. They have a little twist to them. I can normally twist them back straight by hand. That's probably a no-no but I don't know what else to do. It just seems REALLY touchy to shoot. This is my first recurve so I have nothing to compare to and all my friends shoot compounds. So what I'm wondering is ..are short bows alot more touchy than longer ones? I like my short little bow, but I'd be tempted to go longer if the bow would be a lot more forgiving on those cold long mornings. Thanks a lot..good luck
If some animals are good at hunting and others are suitable for hunting, then the Gods must clearly smile on hunting.~Aristotle

..there's more fun in hunting with the handicap of the bow than there is in hunting with the sureness of the gun.~ F.Bear

Offline rnharris

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Are short recurves really harder to shoot?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2009, 11:17:00 AM »