3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Scent control - what is your system?  (Read 1089 times)

Offline faustus

• Trad Bowhunter
Scent control - what is your system?
« on: November 09, 2009, 08:22:00 AM »
Well, I am pretty new to the forum and this is my first real question here.

I have been shooting a longbow for about 5 years now and I am feeling comfortable that I could take a whitetail deer with it if I can get close enough (within 20 meters).
I have never shot a big game animal before ... ( only a couple of grouse)  ... so this is all new to me.
I was wondering what you guys are doing for scent control. What is your "system"?

- Do you take a shower before going out .... ?
- Do you wash you clothes with some special product ... ?
- Do you use cover scents ....?
- Carbon clothing ?
- Do you spray yourself with scent eliminators?
- etc.

Also, hunting with a traditional bow is bit like hunting the old/traditional way ... right?
So, if you have any traditional scent tricks to share I would appreciate it.
By this I mean, tricks or products that could have been used 50 to 100 years ago (or even further back). I know there are thousands of commercial scent products (carbon clothing included) on the market that one can buy, but I would like to stay with simple, time proven methods. Tricks or products that match the spirit of the longbow ....

Thanks in advance for sharing your knowledge & experience ...

---------
Faustus
------------
faustus

Online lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Scent control - what is your system?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2009, 08:45:00 AM »