3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Split fingers?  (Read 240 times)

Offline xtrema312

• Trad Bowhunter
Split fingers?
« on: November 19, 2009, 06:35:00 PM »
Or should I say cracked.  Anyone have problems with deep cracks in your first joint of your string fingers?  This is my first year of really serious trad shooting in a long time.  I have had my share of cracks mostly on the bottom of my index finger shooting split finger.  This fall I have been having a lot of deep cracks in the joint or very near the joint mostly in my ring finger, but also some in my index finger.  I am not sure if it is the cold, build up of tough skin, time for a new tab. dry skin or some combo.  Feels like bad paper cuts.  Not ideal for hunting season to have them popping up.  I am managing if I don't shoot a lot, but as soon as I get into multiple days of heavy practice I get one.  Any ideas what the cause is and how to prevent them or is this fairly common?
1 Timothy 4:4(NKJV)
For every creature of God is good, and nothing is to be refused if it is received with thanksgiving.

Firefly Long Bow  James 4:14
60" MOAB 54@29 James 1:17

Michigan Longbow Association

Offline JRY309

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Split fingers?
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 10:54:00 PM »
No but my buddy used to get some cracks in his hand,he went to a doctor and the doctor gave him some steriod cream that helped heal them.I shoot split and I like to use a deep hook,relaxes the back of your hand and I get a cleaner release.Go see your doctor and get his opinion.

Offline onewhohasfun

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2009, 01:16:00 PM »
Super glue works for me.
Tom

Online Steelhead

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2009, 01:41:00 PM »