3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: ? re: Backquivers  (Read 473 times)

Offline lucznik

• Trad Bowhunter
? re: Backquivers
« on: November 24, 2009, 12:42:00 AM »
I was watching a 3RiversArchery video on their website about proper use of a backquiver.  I've never used one before but, have become interested in them (and sidequivers) lately.  

My question came about as the backquiver was being demonstrated.  I could clearly hear the arrows rattling around both when the demonstrator put on the quiver and when he drew or replaced an arrow. It was really quite loud.  They also rattled around quite noisely as he moved back and forth in the demonstration.

So, my question is this; how do you keep your arrows quiet when hunting with a backquiver?
What if the hokey pokey really is what it's all about?

Offline Rick P

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: ? re: Backquivers
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2009, 01:39:00 AM »
I use a home made cat quiver now but my favorite back quiver was a case skinned fox. Just use the opening at the hind end to put your arrows in and add a strap. Here is the rub because it is soft and there is tons of fur lining the outside edge of the opening the noise is dramatically dampened. I've also found that lining the opening of a leather back quiver with fur can reduce noise dramatically.
Just this Alaskan's opinion

Online Ben Maher

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2009, 02:03:00 AM »
a good Hill style back quiver will " collapse " a bit and hold the arrows rattle free in the quiver .

its pretty much the only quiver i use , except for a Cat Quiver in really inclement weather .
" All that is gold does not glitter , not all those who wander are lost "
J.R.R TOLKIEN

Offline Benny Nganabbarru

• TGMM Member