3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Great Experience on My 2009 KS Deer  (Read 432 times)

Offline KSdan

• Trad Bowhunter
Great Experience on My 2009 KS Deer
« on: November 29, 2009, 10:32:00 PM »

I am rarely public about my hunting stories.  While any deer is special, this was a great trad hunting adventure.  The scouting, hunting on the stealth, and tracking makes for one of those great stories.  

My home state here in KS on November 1. . .light rain. . .bucks just starting to cruise.

First day in a new area. . . have just 2 days to hunt. . .will never hunt here again (being leased for big $$ from non-residents; bummer, but do not blame the farmer).  I studied aerials for a couple of years. . . arrive 2:00. . . short scout.  Bingo! . . . just what I think I am looking for.  Set-up on the portable/stealth at 3:00.  Three does later, he comes in at 5:40- just before dark. . . 8-10 yds hard quartering away.  

Shot well off the one side of his spine in the third to last rib high. The arrow path seemed it would take the arrow into the center of the heart between the front legs.  He ran off with 10" arrow sticking out.  (BW SA curve- 55# at 31” draw.  32” GT trad arrows with 250 gr. up front.)  

High shot with no apparent exit gave minimal blood.  An hour after dark I find a little blood at about 40 yards out.  With light rain and lots of CRP, standing crops, and yotes I hated to let it go until morning.  What to do?  The rain was to stop and frost was expected.  I hate to destroy the evidence. . . I decide to wait.  I slept in my camping rig- it’s called my Ford Explorer!