3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: problems with fletching feathers  (Read 280 times)

Offline SEark71

• Trad Bowhunter
problems with fletching feathers
« on: November 28, 2009, 12:53:00 PM »
I am new at building my own recurve arrows and having difficulty fletching feathers onto aluminum arrows (at least moreso compared with flecthing plastic vanes onto aluminum arrows for my compound).  Here is the pertinent info:

--2216 Legacy shafts
--5.5" Right-wing barred shield-cut feathers from Kustom King
--Bitzenberger Dial-O-Fletch w/right wing clamp, 3-feather config
--Fletch-tite-platinum, prep shafts with acetone

Now here is the issue-- there seems to be NO way to align the feather within the clamp to where the spine (may not be right term?) of the feather is contacting the shaft all the way up the feather.  When I talked to the woman at Kustom King a few months ago (supposed to be technical support), she just made be sound like a dumba@@ by repeating "well its easy, I don't see how you could be having problems".

Anyone have any idea what I am going through?  For plastic vanes, which I have done for years, the spine at the middle of the vane is about 1/8" away from the clamp edge, while I pull it away a bit on both ends.  Therefore, when I place the clamp prior to gluing, it seats tight from tip to tip.  It seems that not only are feathers trickier to work with (tend to flex more), but when the back and middle it seated, only the edge of the spine is contacting the arrow on the front of the feather.    

Help?

thanks in advance

Offline SEark71

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: problems with fletching feathers
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2009, 01:15:00 PM »