3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Light Shafts For a Long Draw  (Read 193 times)

Offline Matt_Potter

• Trad Bowhunter
Light Shafts For a Long Draw
« on: December 29, 2009, 06:30:00 PM »
First let me say - hats off to the administrators, moderators and people of this site.  I have been using and reading this site for several years (never had anything to say until now).  I first hear about it from Too Short who is a friend and customer of mine.  I was grilling him about arrow set up and he told me to go to this new site that had a bunch of very knowledgeable guys running it and keeping it civil.  I figured what the heck if a grumpy little guy like Paul likes it it must be alright.

Its more than alright.  Any question I have had up until now I could do a search and get it answered in spades by some of the most knowledgeable guys in the trad archery.

Here is the question I can't find the answer to:

I am looking for a carbon shaft for my 47@31 Morrison.  I have a legitimate 31 inch draw and need a 31.5 or better yet a 31.75 inch shaft.  Anything shorter and my broad head hits the riser.

What I am finding is 500 shafts are all 31 inches which is to short. With 400 shafts I have to dump so much weight up front to get them to bare shaft they end up way to heavy.  I don't want to start one of THOSE threads so please just trust me they are to heavy for what I am looking for.  I can add a compound bow thingie called a booster that screws in to the insert of my 500 shafts to get an extra 1/2 inch but, that just looks nasty.