3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New to traditional  (Read 343 times)

Offline garrettxs4

• Trad Bowhunter
New to traditional
« on: January 01, 2010, 08:08:00 PM »
Hi Iam new to traditional shooting I have been shooting a compound for about 20 years and I am trying to switch to a recurve I have bought a Bear kodiak 40 lb and custom REM 50lb I have no idea on arrows (carbon,wood,aluminum,feathers plastic,fobs)Iam a little lost any help on what I should try.It seems it would be a little costly to just keep trying things until I hit the right combo Please Help Kevin

Online lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: New to traditional
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2010, 08:10:00 PM »
Welcome and glad you switched.The guys and gals here will get you set up quick.Just have your paper and pencil ready.   :campfire:    :coffee:
Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a
difference in the world, but the Marines don’t have that problem.
—President Ronald Reagan

Offline legends1

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2010, 08:46:00 PM »
Welcome to Traditional archery and welcome to Tradgang.You will find that so many Tradgangers will be willing to help you.You are welcome to call anytime if i can help.209-852-2475.
Mike

Offline Jerry Wald

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2010, 09:01:00 PM »
FIrstly I would just pick one of the bows and get it right. You can phone some of the sponsors and they are great at helping pick a shaft and shaft type (wood-carbon-aluminum?) to start with......

You can get some kits that give you some different sizes so you can experiment...you need to know what weight of tip you want to shoot and FOC you want to achieve...draw length and poundage at that draw length.