3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Selfbow Poundage  (Read 1190 times)

Offline Juniper Bow

• Trad Bowhunter
Selfbow Poundage
« on: April 15, 2007, 11:43:00 AM »
I am kind of new to traditional archery and am shooting a hickory selfbow that I made myself. With a draw wieght of 43lbs. @ about 28in. and heavey for draw wieght arrows would this be enough for deer hunting? My skill level will limit me to something like 15 yard shots. Of course, there is a big difference between a 1 1/2 year old whitetail doe and one of the big bodied muley bucks around here!
I would appreciate some advice, maybe it would be better for me to work up me poundage in the next 4-5 months, or look into getting a more modern bow? Thank you for your time, Juniper Bow

Offline Alex.B

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Selfbow Poundage
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2007, 11:52:00 AM »
I'm sure you'll get plenty of good advice about draw weight and arrow weight with hickory selfbows from the crew around here. I can only tell you this: you don't have to get a more modern bow to kill a big body deer.
tgmm, tanj, compton, bha

Offline Chuck Fawcett

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2007, 12:30:00 PM »
Juniper Bow. I too am shooting self-bows that I have made out of hickory. Mine is 62lbs, and the other is 53lbs. They really rip an arrow, and that is just shooting off my hand, I haven't even put a floppy arrow rest on them yet, too eager to try them out I guess ha,ha. I think your bow is more than enough for deer as long as you have confidence in your set-up and razor sharp broadheads I think that everything else will fall into place for you. Take care Chuck.

Offline Juniper Bow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2007, 12:38:00 PM »