3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Soon to be newbie - couple questions  (Read 594 times)

Offline mfh

• Trad Bowhunter
Soon to be newbie - couple questions
« on: April 15, 2007, 09:22:00 PM »
Hello - I am the soon to be lucky new owner of a Black Douglas Ultra, with Hex IV limbs - 60" at 55lbs@28".  I am new to traditional, having been a compound hunter for a while.  CQC10 - can't wait to get the bow

My questions is what arrows do you guys recommend with this set us.  I draw 28", so I suspect 30" arrows will be best, and I would like to shoot carbons.  I will primarily be hunting whitetail, and will use 125g broadheads (probably Magnus of some sort).  Any advice on arrows will be great.

Also, any other recommendations on other essentials that you can recommend would be great.  I am a firm believer in learning by listening to what others have already done, and that has saved me a lot of money over the years...a quiver is one thing I know I need to research.

Thanks and I look forward to being a Border shooter!

Offline BowsnLabs

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Soon to be newbie - couple questions
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2007, 09:51:00 PM »
I like the Beman MFX Classics.  If you are wanting to shoot 125gr broadheads at your weight, you may want to start with the 400's.  You'll have to find out which combination tunes best for your shooting style and setup though.  You can also get a 100gr insert for these that will put you at 225gr total point weight with a standard 125gr point.  When your tuning, start with a full length arrow and cut from the nock end during bareshafting.  This is the best way for tuning carbons IMO.  Don't be afraid to shoot them longer if necessary.