3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New to Trad Hunting  (Read 337 times)

Offline Chief-Many-Misses

• Trad Bowhunter
New to Trad Hunting
« on: January 29, 2010, 01:45:00 AM »
I am new to the trad hunting world.  I would like to get some advice from others on what type of bow and gear is recommended for a newcomer.

Offline fido dog

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: New to Trad Hunting
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2010, 02:10:00 AM »
Hi Chief! =0)

Start with any bow without wheels....hehe. A lighter weight bow to help with building the muscles you've never used before and trained is good. You can spend a lot of dough or still do everything JUST as effectively on a budget. Check out 3Rivers Archery and Kustom King. They offer some nice bows for the money and you can get some arrows to boot. Don't be afraid to ask as many questions as you want here. People are more than willing to help.

I'm about a year in and have learned a bunch for a newbie. I look forward to all that awaits me.

Welcome! =0)
A politician who acts foolishly may NOT be acting!

Offline Possum2

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2010, 02:46:00 AM »
Welcome aboard lad! Listen to fido dog start out low that way if do not like it your not out a whole lot. Check with  www.maddogarchery.com  Mike can set you up with a nice recurve and your not out a whole lot. Start out with maybe a 40-45# curve and then upgrade further done the road!!

Possum2
Martin Jaguar 60" 50@28
RER Vortex longbow 62" 46@28
Zipper Extreme 60" 55@28

Offline widow sax

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2010, 02:52:00 AM »