3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: K-ZOO SHOW EYE OPENER!!  (Read 1602 times)

Offline Zradix

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
K-ZOO SHOW EYE OPENER!!
« on: February 01, 2010, 11:44:00 AM »
I went to the K-zoo show. I shot a LOT of bows. I've got to say I just don't see the value in the high price big name bows. Now I'm new to all this trad stuff, but I just couldn't see the difference between a plain jane $900 bow and a $450. Is there some reason for the high price that illudes me? Or is it just a name. Anyway just wondering what I'm missing.   :confused:
If some animals are good at hunting and others are suitable for hunting, then the Gods must clearly smile on hunting.~Aristotle

..there's more fun in hunting with the handicap of the bow than there is in hunting with the sureness of the gun.~ F.Bear

Offline Chris Shelton

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: K-ZOO SHOW EYE OPENER!!
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 11:48:00 AM »
I was given my first recurve, but my second recurve was bought, and it was only 200 dollars.  A 55# greatree deer master take down.  I have 5 traditional bows, including the martin hunter($489), some "antiques" and a u-finish bow.  And the greatree is still my favorite:)!  It has been my understanding that the reason some bows are so expensive is because of the woods contained in the bow.  My take down is only black walnut and maple.  No exotics, my hunter has some exotics in there.  SO I would be willing to bet that is why?  Just my theory!
~Chris Shelton
"By failing to prepare you are preparing to fail"~Ben Franklin

Offline Biggie Hoffman

• SRBZ
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 11:53:00 AM »
Buy a $450 bow then buy a $900 bow. You'll see the difference.
OR