3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Newbie- further longbow advice needed  (Read 178 times)

Offline hogwild69

• Trad Bowhunter
Newbie- further longbow advice needed
« on: February 08, 2010, 08:22:00 AM »
I need more specific advice. Based on previous advice here; and being a complete newb, I've decided on a longbow, 40lb draw weight, 66-70 length. Can you guys recommend some specific long bows in the $250 and less range? I've spotted some on Lancaster archery page and yeoldearcheryshoppe page. There are still too many choices to select from. Seen Samick, OMP, etc...

Still don't want to tie up too much money during the learning curve. Thanks again, Greg

Offline Rob DiStefano

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
  • Contributing Member
    • Cavalier Pickups
Re: Newbie- further longbow advice needed
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 09:21:00 AM »
the caveat is that it's always best to try b4 you buy or you will be gambling your purchase dollars.

when you say a '40 pound draw weight' is that at your draw length?  big consideration!

another factor to consider is the longbow design - there'll be a very recognizable performance difference between reflex limb (hill style), mild r/d (mohawk, horne, etc.) and aggressive r/d (too many to mention).

the best value will be in a used bow.  most of the cheap offshore longbows will work just fine, but with optimum performance in mind, look more towards the aggressive r/d models.

pm me if you need more assistance.
IAM ~ The only government I trust is my .45-70 ... and my 1911.

Offline Zradix

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 11:03:00 AM »
Maddog archery and SiegeWork Creations both have NEW bows in that price range. They both have had good reviews