3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Trouble with arrow finish  (Read 407 times)

Offline Arraflinger

• Trad Bowhunter
Trouble with arrow finish
« on: February 17, 2010, 02:05:00 PM »
About a year ago I made up a couple dozen footed arrows . The finish I used was Bohning Fletch Lac, which is the same finish I've been using for the last 40 years. Initially the arrows looked fine but over the course of a year the finish began to darken to the point of looking stained dark. I should add that only the arrows exposed to light turned dark and only on one side ,the side exposed to light. In the picture below the bottom 3 arrows were exposed to light for a year. the top arrow was made at the same time but was kept in an arrow box                                                            In the next photo you can see a round spot in the finish-- that's from the arrow gripper on the quiver. The gripper shielded the finish from light in that spot  In all my years of arrow making I have never had this happen using the Bohning finishes. Has this happened to anyone else? Any suggestions??     Thanks ,Wayne
A gun is like a parachute: If you need one and don't have one,you won't be needing one again

Offline rraming

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Trouble with arrow finish
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2010, 05:30:00 PM »
as a wood flooring guy I know wood ambers alot due to sunlight, I assume the bottom of a floor is in it's "original" condition. Too bad, pretty arrows - they still shoot the same.

Online Charlie Lamb

• Administrator
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2010, 09:26:00 PM »
Yep. I doubt it's the finish. More than likely the wood underneath.
Is it a different wood type than you usually use?
Hunt Sharp

Charlie

Offline Jim Curlee