3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: cant find the right arrows!  (Read 184 times)

Offline nnedj

• Trad Bowhunter
cant find the right arrows!
« on: February 23, 2010, 07:57:00 PM »
hey everybody this is my first post first and foremost my name is josh I guess you could say i am new to archery hunting in general i always wanted to try it but never found compunds to be interesting so i bought my self a consignment martin at the local shop and i have been trying to practice a good bit but my problem is i cant find the correct arrow to shoot from my bow when i bought the bow it came with three cedar arrows that were spined 60-65 but i think they were a shorter draw than i am i have bought some arrows in that spine at my draw but they fail miserably dropping off at short distance so i bought different spine at 50-55 they were ok but still not right so basically i want to try out some carbons maybe but i dont know what to do so if anyone can help out it is greatly appreciated

my poundage is 50 and my draw is 29

thanks again, Josh

Offline ishiwannabe

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: cant find the right arrows!
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2010, 08:42:00 PM »
50@28 or 50@29? What type of bow? Get the name and Im sure someone will know if it is centercut.

If it is 50@28, then you are getting 53@29, so it makes a difference. What do your points weigh?

I would guess something in the area of CE Heritage 150s, but I would wait until you get someone a little better at the "spine thing" to comment for you.

Good luck.
"I lost arrows and didnt even shoot at a rabbit" Charlie after the Island of Trees.
                         -Jamie

Offline metsastaja

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2010, 08:47:00 PM »
First off Welcome,