3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: lots of questions  (Read 189 times)

Offline BIRD DOWN

• Trad Bowhunter
lots of questions
« on: February 24, 2010, 05:14:00 PM »
I am new to the sport of traditional shooting so please bear with me. Let me start by saying I grew up shooting a compound right handed but have always been left eye dominant and never the best of shots. 2 years ago I picked up a bad case of tp and never could shake it. I am a die hard bow hunter but after wounding several animals and recovering many days after I decided something had to go. I just recently talked with a highly accomplished trad shooter from this site who gave me a lot of advice on traditional shooting. Being that I am left eye dominant I decided to start shooting left handed and I bought a hoyt game master with a 45 pound draw. I am actually shooting alot better than expected but with turkey season coming up I have to purchase arrows and broad heads. The arrows I have been shooting are old and I have no idea about weight and length nor do I have any idea what size head I should be using. The field point I have been using is 145 grain. The way I have been shooting is putting 3 fingers a couple inches below the arrow which allows my eye to look strait down the arrow shaft. So far its working but any advice on technique will be appreciated and taken seriously.

Offline straitera

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: lots of questions
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2010, 05:44:00 PM »
First off, welcome. You're shooting 3-under which I've never done. Others will help there. Your draw dimensions; draw length and bow specs will help in selecting proper arrows, etc. Huge resource pool in the archives. IMO, LH will be advantageous.
Buddy Bell

Trad is 60% mental & about 40% mental.