3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: My Adventure In Longbow  (Read 1361 times)

Offline HUNT 24/7

• Trad Bowhunter
My Adventure In Longbow
« on: March 02, 2010, 10:12:00 PM »
As some of you know from my introduction thread    My Introduction Thread  
 I am new to the world of bow hunting & shooting, I plan to use this thread to post my progress as a new longbow shooter, and to ask the many questions I know I will have.

Heres what I'm running

Bow #1 - Root Feild Master recurve, 45lbs at 28"
         I plan to use this bow untill I have    
         established good form & some muscle
         memory, then I will move to my Hill.

Bow #2 - Howard Hill "Wesley Special"

My personal goals are:

1) To attend as many 3D shoots as I can to improve my shooting & just have fun.

2) To become a good enough shot to pass my bowhunter education course in August 2010.

3) To become a good enough shot to take my bow bear hunting in spring of 2011, & hopefully get to use it   :thumbsup:  

4) Continue to hunt, shoot & enjoy my longbow.

Hope you enjoy the ride, I know I will.

Offline SpankyNeal

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: My Adventure In Longbow
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2010, 10:27:00 PM »
That's a BIG jump from 45 to 70#! Just don't try and go too fast to that Wesley bud - a torn up shoulder will shorten your adventure for sure! Will follow your trip with interest - best of luck!

Ken
Ken "Spanky" Neal

4 Sunset Hills and counting!

66" 59# "White Dragon"
65" 56# "El Tigre"
67" 47# "Quiet Places"
66" 57# "Lionheart"

"Speed is vital, however it is absolutely worthless when you exchange it for stability and accuracy"...John Schulz

Offline JRY309

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2010, 10:35:00 PM »