3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Weight tubes versus weighted inserts...  (Read 451 times)

Offline shaneroe

• Trad Bowhunter
Weight tubes versus weighted inserts...
« on: March 03, 2010, 09:10:00 PM »
Is there a downfall to either one?  I'm new to all this and I was going to use the tubes cause I am border line on my spine being to weak and I thought a big weighted insert with a broadhead would make my spine weaker than if I used tubes.  Am I way off?  Thanks.

Offline katman

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Weight tubes versus weighted inserts...
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 09:19:00 PM »
I think your on target.
shoot straight shoot often

Offline GMMAT

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2010, 09:21:00 PM »
No.  You're not way off.

One (Weight tubes) won't affect your dynamic spine.

One (weighted insert) will.

Offline Steve O

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2010, 09:22:00 PM »
I have solved many flight problems for guys by removing those ridiculous weght tubes from their arrows.  YMMV, but I would never waste my time with those things.

Offline dbow

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2010, 09:23:00 PM »
i could never get tubes to shoot as nice as weighted inserts.  IMO the downsides of tubes are:
-always come loose, especially when stump shooting.
-poor flight.
-cost too much money.

I would think that the weighted inserts would make your spine weaker than tubes, but I would give them both a shot.  You'd be surprised how much you can put on the end of an arrow before it becomes to weak.  I shoot 28 inch 500's at 53lbs with 225 at the tip, and 75 grain inserts!

Offline pitbull

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2010, 09:26:00 PM »